Text size: A A A

SDI® Certification - Service Desk Institute

Page Banner Certifications

Service Desk Institute LogoAre you a service desk professional seeking professional development and recognition of your skills? Then the Service Desk Institute’s (SDI’s) professional certifications are for you.

Administered by APMG-International on behalf of SDI®, these industry-proven and internationally recognised certifications can help you get ahead throughout your IT support career. The certifications are based on the SDI Professional Standards, reviewed and updated every 3 years by a committee of industry experts, service management professionals and practitioners to reflect the latest industry developments and best practices. These professional standards set out clear definitions for key service desk roles and provide the basis of all SDI training and exams.

The SDI certifications provide candidates with a structured IT service and support career path and progression route.

View/download our SDI Certification Overview Leaflet.

  Find A Training
                     Become A Training

Benefits for Individuals

  • Qualifications designed specifically for their roles.
  • Three levels provide a structured career path and progression route.
  • Ability to demonstrate understanding of service desk requirements, skills and best practices to an employer.
  • Industry generic allowing skills to be applied outside of current organisation.
  • Source of continued professional development for IT support profession.

Benefits for Organizations

  • Staff equipped with skills and knowledge of best practices specific to roles.
  • Positive impact on the efficient running of service desk & IT support functions.
  • Increased productivity and customer satisfaction.
  • Excellent for training new starters.
  • Aids preparation for service desk audit if required/appropriate.

Service Desk Analyst (SDA)

Aimed at service desk and support analysts with at least 9 months experience in an IT service and support environment. Training and certification provides essential development and a recognized certification.

  • Multiple choice
  • 60 questions per paper
  • 39 marks required to pass (out of 60 available) - 65%
  • 60 minutes duration
  • Closed book.

Service Desk Manager (SDM)

Designed for both new and experienced service desk managers, team leaders and supervisors with between 3 and 5 years experience of the service desk environment.

  • Multiple choice
  • 60 questions per paper
  • 39 marks required to pass (out of 60 available) - 65%
  • 60 minutes duration
  • Closed book.

The exams are based on the SDI standards governing the certifications. The standards are available to download free from the SDI website at: