Text size: A A A

ITIL® Certification - IT Service Management

Page Banner Certifications

ITIL Examination Institute LogoITIL® is the only consistent and comprehensive documentation of best practice for IT Service Management. Used by many hundreds of organizations around the world, a whole ITIL philosophy has grown up around the guidance contained within the ITIL books and the supporting professional qualification scheme.

ITIL consists of a series of books giving guidance on the provision of quality IT services, and on the accommodation and environmental facilities needed to support IT. ITIL has been developed in recognition of organizations' growing dependency on IT and embodies best practices for IT Service Management.

  Find A Training
              Help Pass Your Exam
with AXELOS Membership
                     Become A Training

Benefits for Individuals

  • Provide a practical framework for identifying, planning, delivering and supporting IT services to the business.
  • Increase business productivity, efficiency and effectiveness through more reliable IT services.
  • Define processes with clearly documented accountability for each activity to increase efficiency.
  • Enable a business to keep pace with change and drive business change to its advantage.
  • Help employees to focus on the needs of the customers and user experience rather than spending too much time on technological issues.

Benefits for Organizations

  • Align IT services with business priorities to achieve strategic objectives.
  • Increase value from the service portfolio while reducing costs and risk.
  • Enable successful business transformation and growth with an increased competitive advantage by defining and managing the customer and service portfolio.
  • Increase competence, capability and productivity of IT staff and better utilize the skills and experience of staff.
  • Improve user and customer satisfaction with IT as well as the end-user perception and brand image.

Foundation Level

The purpose of the ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is to certify that you have gained knowledge of the ITIL terminology, structure and basic concepts and have comprehended the core principles of ITIL practices for Service Management.

After completing the ITIL foundation course and exam, you will have gained knowledge and understanding in the following areas:

  • Service management as a practice
  • The ITIL service lifecycle
  • Generic concepts and definitions
  • Key principles and models
  • Selected processes
  • Selected functions
  • Selected roles
  • Technology and architecture
  • Competence and training

Exam Format

  • Multiple choice
  • 40 questions per paper
  • 26 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) - 65%
  • 60 minutes duration
  • Closed book.

Practitioner Level

The Practitioner level certification is the next step after ITIL Foundation that aims to equip professionals with the essential skills to apply ITIL concepts in their organization. This certification provides the practical elements to complement ITIL guidance, comprising of key skills for how to start adopting and adapting ITIL within an organization.

The scheme covers the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) approach as the way to structure any improvement initiatives as well as looking at the below three key areas within improvement initiatives:

  • Organizational Change Management
  • Communication
  • Measurement and Metrics
  • The ITIL Practitioner certification will count as 3 credits towards the ITIL Expert certification.

Exam Format

  • Multiple choice, scenario based questions
  • 40 questions per paper
  • 28 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) – 70%
  • 2 hour 15 minutes duration
  • Open Book (Official ITIL Practitioner Guidance only)

Intermediate Level

ITIL Intermediate level has a modular structure with each module holding a different focus. You can take as few or as many Intermediate certificates as you require, to suit your needs. The Intermediate modules go into more detail than the Foundation level, and is an industry-recognized certification.

All higher level ITIL examinations require a candidate to complete mandatory accredited training before being able to take the examination.

There are two streams in the Intermediate level, the Service Lifecycle Stream and the Service Capability Stream, download the pdfs below for further information:

Service Lifecycle Stream Service Capability Stream
Service Strategy (SS) Operational Support and Analysis (OS&A)
Service Design (SD) Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA)
Service Transition (ST) Release, Control and Validation (RC&V)
Service Operation (SO) Planning, Protection and Optimization (PP&O)
Continual Service Improvement (CSI)  

The Service Lifecycle Stream includes 5 individual certificates built around the five core OGC (now Cabinet Office) titles. The Service Intermediate Capability Stream includes 4 individual certificates focussing on detailed process implementation and management within cluster groupings.

Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC)

In order to achieve ITIL Expert certification, you must successfully complete the Managing Across the Lifecycle capstone course, and have accumulated sufficient credits across a balanced selection of ITIL subject areas.

Exam Format

MALC 2011

  • Multiple choice
  • 10 questions per paper
  • 35 marks required to pass (out of 50 available) - 70%
  • 120 minutes duration
  • Closed book.

MALC 2007

  • Multiple choice
  • 8 questions per paper
  • 28 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) - 70%
  • 90 minutes duration
  • Closed book.

ITIL Expert

To achieve the ITIL Expert in IT Service Management, you must successfully complete, in addition to the Foundation Level, a number of intermediate units and the Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) capstone course. This course brings together the full essence of a Lifecycle approach to service management, and consolidates the knowledge gained across the certification scheme.

Find out more about achieving the ITIL Expert.

ITIL Master

This level of the certification scheme will assess your ability to apply and analyze the ITIL concepts in new areas.You will be required to explain and justify how you have personally applied knowledge, principles, methods and techniques from ITIL to achieve desired business outcomes.

On successful completion of the ITIL Master certification you will have submitted a Proposal, Work Package and completed an Interview with a panel of assessors.

Find out more about achieving the ITIL Master.

For latest developments in ITIL, visit the ITIL Official Site.

ITIL Membership

AXELOS_ITIL_PRACTITIONER_DIGITAL_BADGE_220If you hold an ITIL qualification you are eligible to join the AXELOS Membership, the only online membership aligned to the PRINCE2 best practice framework.

Key benefits:

  • A professionally recognized digital badge linked to your qualification
  • Career progression tools to benchmark and develop your skills
  • Continuing professional development tools to track and record your career progression
  • Access to industry experts and the latest thought leadership
  • Online publications, toolkits and the latest best practice content

No joining fee when you purchase the 12 month membership through our bookshop. Find out more on https://www.apmg-businessbooks.com/AXELOSMembership

Recommended Reading

The following titles are available from APMG-Business Books.

ITIL Foundation Handbook 2011 Cover




ITIL Foundation Handbook


ITIL® Practitioner Guidance


  Buy Now


  Buy Now


View/download our ITIL Certification Overview Leaflet.